P. Pufferfish works another day

What happened today: Arrived early to work (shock of the century). Boss was nowhere to be seen. Turns out she’s out interviewing potential new employees. If only she could’ve been out last week, when I ran in 6 minutes late due to unexpected traffic. Still not sure if she saw me (she probably did), and I’m already at my max number of tardies for the year, so this time next week, I might be out of a job. I did apply for another job last night (not just because I think I’m going to be fired) that I really want, so I hope I get an interview. Sibling and coworkers think I’m being overdramatic as usual. Perhaps. I like to be as negative as possible when it comes to my own life in order to avoid being blindsided. I do love my current job (location, coworkers, boss, everything), and being fired would make things very inconvenient, so deities, please let me stay. *Clasps hands*

crytoheavenOver the weekend, I finished Cry To Heaven, a lesser-known novel by Anne Rice that I found randomly on a list somewhere. Boy, was it something different! As a (very open-minded) fan of The Vampire Chronicles, I thought I was ready for anything Anne Rice threw at me. Sex? Gay sex? Promiscuity? Obsession? Bring it on! Was still bewildered as fuck by some of the scenes in the book. The first fourth of it was pretty calm, pretty interesting. Two boys, Guido and Tonio, “narrate” the story (it uses 3rd-person POV). Guido is a castrato, sold into the life by his family. He does very well for himself up until he hits puberty, when his voice changes and his chances of becoming a world-famous singer vanish. Tonio is the heir to the wealthy, powerful Treschi family of Venice. His mom is decades younger than his dad. She’s a gifted musician/singer, but she suffers from depression and spends most of her time sleeping, drinking, and neglecting Tonio (unhappy mothers– seems to be a thing with Anne Rice’s books). The only time she hangs out with him is when they’re practicing music, which he also excels at. In fact, the only escape these two have from their isolation and misery is music. Teenaged Tonio starts roaming the city with some musician friends, singing for the masses and sleeping with a barmaid. He starts to really garner attention and this is where all the trouble starts! The reveals in the earlier parts of the book are predictable and Guido is all scowly while Tonio is understandably timid and unbearably dutiful/dull, and thus, I wasn’t super into the story until the second chunk of it, when the two characters actually meet (it was a predictable meeting with a predictable outcome, but that’s when the story starts getting better). I won’t say anymore about the plot, other than that I liked seeing believable character development and growth on the part of Tonio. He changes as a result of his experiences, but he still remains essentially himself. As usual, Anne Rice does an excellent job of bringing the world of singers/performers/musicians/artists to life. The protagonists and many of the supporting cast are linked together by their passion for their work, whether it’s songwriting, singing, or painting (I have an addictive personality, and I totally get it), and for one another (this, I don’t get as much, because like Lestat, Tonio falls in love every other chapter or something).

I gave this book 4 stars on Goodreads because I liked it (I’m also an easy grader), especially the middle chunk of it. I also have to add that I downloaded the ebook from my library/workplace’s Overdrive collection, which gave me more incentive to read faster, since it forces you to renew/return the book after one week. Speaking of the library,

during my commute today, I continued listening to The Golden Compass audiobook I borrowed. I’m 2/3 of the way through, and it’s so much better this time around! The audiobook cast is also great. I originally read this trilogy for class years ago. I was the same age as Lyra then, and I thought she was sullen, obnoxious, and disrespectful. Listening to it again in my twenties, I think she’s hilarious. She’s quick-witted and gutsy, way more capable than I was when I was her age. I’ve  recently “reread” several books I read as a child/teenager, and it’s fascinating how one’s perspective/opinion changes with age. I’m definitely going to get the rest of the trilogy on audiobook.

During dinner, I ate leftover mostocioli and drank a glass of Sterling Vintner merlot, 2013 (delicious). Then I ate some lemon thin Oreos and continued drinking the merlot (not so delicious– can you ever pair Oreos with wine?). I also finished watching ChristopherOdd’s walkthrough for We Happy Few on Youtube. It’s an early access version, so it cuts off abruptly, but his walkthrough, and SplatterCatGaming’s, have provided me and the sib with our (sometimes laugh-out-loud) dinnertime entertainment for the past week. We’re considering buying the game when it comes out.

After dinner, I took my customary nighttime walk while listening to ep. 1 of Alice Isn’t Dead (a new-ish podcast from the Night Vale people). It was brilliant! The episodes are narrated by a female truck driver (I have never seen a female truck driver in my life, so this is a big deal here) who is delivering deodorant and searching for her missing wife, Alice. It starts out pretty normal. She’s driving on the interstate. She thinks about her wife. She goes to a diner. She sees a monstrous-looking fellow diner. She watches the monstrous-looking fellow diner eat someone in the parking lot and drives away in fear. It’s crazy, and I’m into it already! I saw (did not read) an article this morning about getting more people to read with serialized fiction. Looks like we’re going back in time by a couple hundred years. Wasn’t Count of Monte Cristo released in chunks in a weekly publication? And with the new podcast obsession, it’s like radio plays never left. Am I complaining? Nope. I am thrilled. I love storytelling through different mediums (the way Overwatch is doing with their game/trailers/comics).

Right now, I’m going to go back to The Raven King. I actually pre-ordered the book, but didn’t get it until halfway through finals week, so I put off reading it “until after finals”. Then my typical “can’t let go of fictional characters” mindset (see Downton Abbey, which I finally finished two weeks ago after much internal strife) kicked in and I ended up not picking it up again until 3 AM on Saturday night. I read through most of Sunday, but ended up going out with a friend, so I still have about 80 pages left to go. But do I want to finish? Not really. Maggie Stiefvater created such amazing characters! Where will I ever find such amazing YA characters again?

I’ll keep you posted here.

Leave a Reply

